Sembabule: Sodo Floors Musherure; Kawooya Triumphs in NRM MP Primaries

1 Mins read

George William Katokoozi, the Sembabule district NRM returning officer has on Wednesday night declared President Museveni’s younger brother Godfrey Aine Kaguta commonly known as “Sodo,” the winner of the heavily contested Mawogola North NRM parliamentary primary election.

Sodo, who garnered 17,343 votes beat Shartis Musherure Kutesa, the daughter of Foreign Affairs Minister Sam, who came second while Salim Kiseka came third.

Musherure garnered 16,104 (42.7%) of the vote while Kiseka trailed with 4,274 votes, representing 11.3% of the total votes cast.

The polls were held under tight security manned by police and the military.

The initial election was postponed due to violence and counter accusations of rigging and other electoral malpractices.

Sodo performed well in the town council where he is said to be popular among the youthful urban dwellers.

Security was tightened during the election

Musherure won in several rural areas where she concentrated during the campaigns.

She supported youth groups and mobilised for extension of social services in several parts of the constituency.

In Mawogola West, the race was between Anifa Kawooya and Joseph Sekabito.

Kawooya who got 15,923 votes representing 54.8% of the total votes cast was declared winner of the race while Sekabito who got 13,143 votes representing 45.2% of total votes cast cans second.

NRM EC chairman Tanga Odoi supervising the election in Sembabule on Wednesday (Courtesy photos)

For the case of Sembabule district woman MP, the race was won by Mary Begumisa who garnered 73,940 votes,representing 72% of the total votes cast – beating two contenders, Faith Arinaitwe who garnered 11,011

votes representing 10% of the vote and Jovanis Twongirwe with 16,448 votes representing 16.2% of the total votes cast.

Source – ChimpReports

Power your brain with Ugandan News

Add some text to explain benefits of
subscripton on your services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *