1,113 Students Shortlisted to Receive HESFB Loans to Pursue Higher Education

2 Mins read

The Higher Education Students’ Financing Board (HESFB) has Tuesday released the full list of successful students who applied for loans to pursue higher education under the student’s loan scheme.

The HESFB Chairperson, Rev. Fr Prof Callisto Locheng said that out of the 5,737 students who  applied for loans, with 5,114 applying to be supported to study various degree programmes and 621 for diploma progemmes at various higher education Institutions, only 1,113 students were successful, representing a success rate of 20%.

“The number of successful loan applicants is 1,113 students representing a success rate of 20% of the applications received. 617 (55.4%) are male while 496 (44.6%) are female,” said Prof Locheng.

Among these, 1,004 (90%) are undergraduate degree applicants while 109 (10%) are diploma applicants.

Prof Locheng noted that the total number of female successful applicants increased by 10.6% from 34% last year to 44% this year.

“In terms of policy support to Persons with Disabilities (PWDs), we have offered support to 24 students with disabilities. Of these, 5 are female while 19 are males. This category of learners is able to pursue degrees or diplomas in both science and Humanities programmes,” Prof Locheng said.

He noted that the Board received applications from all districts of Uganda apart from Amudat, Nakapiripiriti, Karenga and Moroto.

The HESFB Executive Director Michael Wanyama on the other hand, said that the demand for Students’ loans has continued to rise.

The Board, he said, has ensured gender equality which is a great milestone for the girl child doing science programmes which was dominated by males.

Wanyama revealed that the budget allocation for the first year students stands at 4.55 billion that will be utilized to fund 1,113 students at both undergraduate and diploma level.

Participating higher learning institutions

There has been an increase in the number of universities benefiting from the scheme, from 12 universities in the 2014/15 academic year when Higher Education Students’ Financing Board (HESFB) was established to now 22 universities this 2020/21 academic year.

The universities increased from 20 last year to 22 after ISBAT University and African Bible University received charters in the course of the 2019/20 academic year.

There are other 36 tertiary institutions (diploma awarding Institutions) that admit students under loan scheme.

The approved public and chartered private universities to participate in students’ financing scheme for the 2020/21 academic year include; Busitema University, Gulu University, Kabale University, Kyambogo University, Lira University, Makerere University, Mbarara University of Science and Technology, Muni University, Soroti University, Makerere University Business School, African Bible University, Bishop Stuart University, Bugema University.

Others are; ISBAT University, Islamic University in Uganda, Kampala International University, Kampala University, Mountains of the Moon University, Ndejje University, Nkumba University, Uganda Christian University and Uganda Marty’s University.

For this 7th Cohort of loans for the 2020/21 academic year, the Board approved support for students to pursue any of the listed 134 undergraduate degree and 75 diploma programmes.

The loans awarded to students cover the student’s tuition fees, functional fees, research fees and funds to cover aids and appliances for persons with disabilities.

The full list of successful applicants can be accessed here.


Source – ChimpReports

Power your brain with Ugandan News

Add some text to explain benefits of
subscripton on your services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *