Justice Rugadya Atwooki appointed Immigration board Chairperson

2 Mins read

Retired Justice Albert Rugadya Atwooki, has been appointed chairperson of the Citizenship and Immigration Board.

Justice Rugadya, formerly the Resident Judge Masindi High Court, on Monday officially took over office from the acting chairperson, Mariam Amoit who stays on as the Board member.

He was sworn in on Tuesday by Justice Emmanuel Baguma who urged him to continue being an ambassador for the Judiciary.

Speaking shortly after taking the oath of office before, Justice Rugadya thanked the President for his appointment. “This appointment came as surprise to me,” he said.

He called on the other members of the board to serve with diligence, honesty and integrity as he appealed for full support from the internal affairs ministry and the directorate.

“We request for full facilitation to the Board to be enabled to fully perform its roles. I call for patience and cooperation,” he said.

Dr. Sarah Wasagali Kanabi was also sworn in as a new member of the Board joining other members who include Dr Eria Hasali, Beatrice Lagada, Justice Lameck Mukasa and Col. Geofrey Kambere, and Sarah Wasagali Kanabi.

The permanent secretary of the Internal Affairs Ministry, Dr Benon Mutambi who represented Minister Jeje Odong, expressed a lot of hope in the board and its new leadership to serve Ugandans with honesty and diligence.

The functions of the board according to the Uganda Citizenship and Immigration Control Act include; registering and issuing of the national identity cards to citizens of Uganda, issuing of Uganda passports and other travel documents and granting and cancelling citizenship by registration and naturalization.

Others include; granting and cancelling immigration permits, registering and issuing identity cards to aliens, determining any questions which may arise in the implementation of this Act or any questions which may be referred to it by the minister and performing any other functions as may be assigned to it by or under the Act or any other enactment.

On the same day, Justice Baguma swore in members of the Health Service Commission.

Justice Baguma congratulated the members of the Commission upon their reappointment which he said was a renewed trust by the appointing authority.

He urged the newly sworn-in members to serve with humility, integrity and honesty so as to fight the cancer of corruption in the country.

The Health Service Commission consists of Dr. Pius Okongo as its chairperson, deputized by Dr Christine Tegamayi Mwebesa. Other members are Dr Karugaba Byensi Apollo, Mr Aguma Anago, Prof Meddy Ouma, Ms Cheruto Akena Irene and Ms. Atula Ruth Frances.

Present at the twin events were the Head of Public Service, John Mitala, Registrar High Court, Samuel Emokor, who represented the Chief Registrar, Assistant Registrar and Public Relations Officer, Jamson Karemani, Secretary Health Service Commission and outgoing Chairperson of the Immigrations Board and representatives from Ministry internal affairs

Source – Trumpet News

Power your brain with Ugandan News

Add some text to explain benefits of
subscripton on your services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *