Shaban Named in Cranes Provisional Squad for CHAN

1 Mins read

Uganda Cranes head coach Johnathan McKinstry has named a 28-man provisional squad to start preparations for the 2021 African Nations Championship (CHAN) that involves only players in the domestic leagues of the respective countries.

Striker Shaban Muhammad, after a lengthy layoff returns to the Cranes fold alongside midfielder Tonny Mawejje, defender Murushid Juuko, and goalkeeper Tom Ikara.

Notable graduates from the Uganda Hippos (U-20) team that qualified for AFCON U-20 tournament, include Vipers’ left back Aziz Kayondo, midfielder Bobosi Byaruhanga and Proline striker Ivan Bogere.

Defenders Muhamood Hassan and Eric Ssenjobe featuring for Police FC alongside BUL’s forward Joseph Ssemujju are the new faces in the Cranes squad.

The summoned squad is expected to enter the residential camp on Sunday, 20th December and will officially kick-off training sessions on Monday at a venue yet to be confirmed.

Prior to the final tournament, Uganda Cranes will play in a pre-CHAN invitational tournament alongside Niger, Zambia and Cameroon between 1st – 7th January 2021 in Yaounde.

Uganda Cranes is pitted in group C alongside Morocco, Togo and Rwanda for the CHAN finals scheduled for 16th January to 7th February in Cameroon.

The event will be hosted by the cities of Yaounde, Douala and Limbe and will also serve as a warm-up for Cameroon ahead of the Africa Cup of Nations.

The 28-man Provisional Squad

Goalkeepers: Joel Mutakubwa (Kyetume), Nafian Alionzi (URA), Tom Ikara (Police)

Defenders: Eric Ssenjobe (Police), Aziz Kayondo (Vipers), Derrick Ndahiro (SC Villa),Paul Willa (Vipers), Ashraf Mandela (URA), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers), Musitafa Mujjuzi (Kyetume),Patrick Mbowa (URA),Murushid Juuko (Express), Muhamood Hassan (Police)

Midfielders: Shafiq Kagimu (URA), Tonny Mawejje (Police), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers), Karim Watambala (Vipers), Saidi Kyeyune (URA), Hassan Ssenyonjo (Wakiso Giants)

Forwards: Ben Ocen (Police), Ibrahim Orit (Vipers), Vianne Ssekajjugo (Wakiso Giants), Joseph Ssemujju (BUL), Joackim Ojera (URA), Milton Karisa (Vipers), Stephen Mukwala (URA), Mohamed Shaban (Vipers), Ivan Bogere (Proline)

Source – ChimpReports

Power your brain with Ugandan News

Add some text to explain benefits of
subscripton on your services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *