KCCA awards winners of the 2020 Weyonje Sanitation Challenge from its five divisions

1 Mins read

Kampala Capital City Authority (KCCA) has today held the Weyonje Sanitation Challenge Award Ceremony at KCCA Waste Plant in the Industrial Area in Kampala. KCCA Executive Director, Dorothy Kisaka was the Guest of Honour at the scientific event.  

This was the second running for the challenge to happen and last year it was held at KCCA grounds Lugogo where Hon. Betty Namisango Kamya, the Minister for Kampala Capital City and Metropolitan Affairs and the then Ag Executive Director Eng. Andrew Kitaka were in attendance.

While delivering her address, Kisaka said that keeping our City clean is an aspect that we can only achieve when we all work together.

“This will therefore require a deliberate effort from each one of us to ensure that our neighbourhoods, our drainages, our roads, our homes are clean,” Kisaka said.

The Executive Director said cleanness will be made a culture in City through participatory service delivery and promoting zero tolerance to rubbish where everyone practices proper disposal of garbage and plastics thereby reducing pollution, and improving environmental quality which in turn reduces public health risks including disease epidemics.

She said, in 2015 Waste management was at 30% and now it has improved to at least 50%. Despite having inadequate gabbage equipment, she  that only this year they have emptied over 1000 toilet and collected 80000 tonnes of solid waste management.

Nakawa Mayor Nsubuga Balimwezo who was also present at the awarding ceremony requested the authority to increase the salaries of cleaners who he said earn Shs6000 per day. 

Back to the 2020 Weyonje Sanitation Challenge that saw all the five divisions of Kampala Capital City (Kampala Central, Makindye, Rubaga, Kawempe and Nakawa) compete, Makindye won the solid waste management and Inspection categories, Rubaga won the Sanitation and Model Village categories while Innovation category was won by Kawempe.

Makindye was announced the overall winner and awarded a cheque worth Shs5 million. The other divisions were also given tokens of appreciation with Kampala Central getting Shs1.5 million, Nakawa Division Shs2m, Kawempe Division Shs2.5m and second winner Rubaga Division got Shs3m.

Source – Matooke Republic

Power your brain with Ugandan News

Add some text to explain benefits of
subscripton on your services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *