Pallaso, Slick Stuart & DJ Roja voted fan favorites

2 Mins read


By Our Reporter

Uganda artistes, Pallaso, and Slick Stuart & DJ Roja have clinched a spot in the Listeners’ Choice category for the MTV Africa Music Awards. They beat fellow musicians, Winnie Nwagi, John Blaq, and B2C for the spot after being voted fan favorites.

The musicians had been previously shortlisted for the Listeners’ Choice category and music fans were asked to vote for their favorite artiste in a poll conducted via local radio stations and social media.

The finalists for the category were revealed early this week and the Ugandan musicians will go head-to-head with 18 other artists from across the continent who were also selected through the same criteria.

Other nominees include: Anna Joyce (Angola), ASAPH (Zimbabwe), Dagi D (Ethiopia), DBN Gogo & DJ Dinho (South Africa), Didi B (Cote D’Ivoire), Drizilik (Sierra Leone), Focalistic (South Africa), Khaligraph Jones (Kenya), Locko (Cameroon), Malome Vector (Lesotho), Meddy (Rwanda), Mohamed Ramadan (Egypt), Ngaaka Blindé (Senegal), Rayvanny (Tanzania), Sarkodie (Ghana), Shirazee (Benin), Souhila Ben Lachhab (Algeria), and Tiwa Savage (Nigeria).

The Listeners’ Choice category gives music lovers across the continent the opportunity to have their voices heard.

“The MAMA is all about bringing the music to the people, celebrating the best that Africa has to offer and uniting us through African youth culture,” says Monde Twala, Senior Vice President and General Manager at ViacomCBS Networks Africa (VCNA). “The Listeners’ Choice Award embodies this philosophy, as it ensures that the voices of music lovers across the diverse countries on the continent are recognised.”

The MTV Africa Music Awards will be held virtually in partnership with Uganda, the Pearl of Africa, on 20 February 2021.

Source – BigEye.UG

Power your brain with Ugandan News

Add some text to explain benefits of
subscripton on your services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *