Masaza Cup: Sematimba Strikes as Buddu Book Final Berth

1 Mins read

• Buddu 1-0 Bulemeezi

A Titus Sematimba lone strike was enough to see Buddu advance to the 2020 Masaza Cup tournament final after edging Bulemeezi on the semifinal stage at the FUFA Technical Center, Njeru on Wednesday evening.

The Skillful Sematimba won it for Buddu when he controlled Kavuma Marvin’s long ball into the box to place the ball past goalkeeper Mugoye Haman with only six minutes into the game.

Buddu narrowly scored to double the lead but goalkeeper Haman Mugoye parried away Nsamba Fahad’s effort from outside the 18-yard box before collecting Gideon Odongo’s close range shot with ease.

However, the 2016 champions will praise goalkeeper Farouk Sebbanja Yawe for his acrobatic saves that kept the game in their favor amidst several attempts made by the defending champions.

Goalie Sebbanja jumped high to thwart away John Ben Nakibinge stunning free kick into corner before denying Gabriel Eragu’s close range finishing in a keeper to beat challenge.

Yawe later saved Muzanyi Akiram header off a teasing delivery from the right wing before center referee Kimbugwe Muhammad turned down Bulemeezi’s penalty appeal following a contested handball.

Buddu will play against record champions Gomba in the final on a date yet to be confirmed by the organizing committee. Finalists Gomba saw off Busiro (5-4) after penalties after a goalless draw in the normal time.

The final will provide a recap of the 2016 Masaza Cup final. That final saw Buddu win on decisive penalties.

Team Lineups


Mugoye Haman (GK), Musisi Henry Muyomba, Kizza Douglas Lule, Semwogerere Rashid, Sulaiman Sesazzi, Masembe Diriisa, Sebyondya Rogers, Kakaire Thomas, Muzanyi Hakiram, Nakibinge John Ben, Gabriel Eragu

Substitutes: Banalya Ibrahim, Kayondo Ismail, Mutyaba Travis, Kafumbe Masuudi


Sebbanja Yawe Farouk (GK), Namasa Edward, Muwawu Stephen, Kizza Angelo, Sengendo Sharif, Kavuma Marvin, Nsamba Fahad, Semugera Miisi Diego, Sematimba Titus, Gideon Odongo, Frank Sebuufu

Substitutes: Kibuule Obbo N, Ssekaayi Farouk, Nsimbe Jibril, Mawejje Jovan, Mwesigwa Emmanuel

Source – ChimpReports

Power your brain with Ugandan News

Add some text to explain benefits of
subscripton on your services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *