Ntungamo Election Losers Petition EC

1 Mins read

Three candidates who lost the parliamentary election for Ruhaama county in Ntungamo district have petitioned the Electoral Commission seeking nullification of the election.

The petitioners are Guard Kamaradi an Independent candidate, Gerald Mucureezi of the Alliance for National Transformation-ANT and Isaac Nuwagaba Forum for Democratic Change- FDC.

NRM’s Henry Nkwasibwe Zinkuratire was declared winner of the race by district returning officer Latif Ngozi, having garnered 47,203 votes.

Mucurezi  came second with 7407 votes,  Kamaradi third with 1,442  votes and FDC’s Isaac  Nuwagaba trailed with  1,432 votes.

In the petition to the EC Chairperson Justice Simon Byabakama, the losers argue that the election was marred with cases of ballot stuffing, violence at some polling stations, arrests, intimidations from the army and police.

Among others, they claim that at Kabira Primary School in Nyarubaare parish, all their agents were chased before the counting of votes .

They also claim that the Chairman LC II Mirama Hills Army Adson was found with ticked ballot papers in favour of the NRM candidate.

At Kyakashambara COU polling station, the three also allege that the presiding officer closed the polling exercise before the official time.

They note that all the ballot papers had been ticked and voting finished at 1 pm.

They now want the EC to nullify the declaration of Zinkuratire and pave way for another election.

They say that all the irregularities were raised to the district returning officer who kept a deaf ear and went on to declare Zinkuratire the winner.

Nkwasibwe says he wasn’t aware of the petition and insists the election was free and fair.

The EC Spokesperson Paul Bukenya confirmed receiving the petition noting that they are yet to set date for the hearing

Source – ChimpReports

Power your brain with Ugandan News

Add some text to explain benefits of
subscripton on your services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *