Rukare Confirmed President as UOC Ushers in New Executive

1 Mins read

The Uganda Olympic Committee (UOC) on Saturday ushered in a new Executive Committee led by president Dr Donald Rukare.

Rukare alongside the entire executive committee was confirmed during the elective Annual General Meeting held at the UOC offices in Lugogo.

Presided by the National Council of Sports General Secretary, Dr. Bernard Patrick Ogwel, association presidents and the media, the elective congress confirmed Rukare as president having gone through unopposed.

Rukare, who doubles as NCS chairman, called for teamwork and unity amongst the member associations to ensure the actualization of the athletes dreams.

“I would like to thank you upon entrusting me with the top seat following successful nominations. As the entire board, we are looking forward to working with all of you as we take sports made in Uganda forward. We welcome an open dialogue and we’ll keep the doors of UOC open because we welcome all kinds of ideas and together we will move the sport forward,” Rukare said.

He added, “we must work towards actualization of the athletes dreams because we are all there for the athletes and we need to work in that direction.”

Rukare replaces outgoing president William Blick who has been at the helm of Uganda Olympic Committee since 2012 when he replaced Rogers Ddungu.

Blick who successfully completed his two terms, rewarded four officials with the Order of Merit Award in appreciation for their commitment towards the development of the sports.

They included Hajji Salim Musoke (Weightlifting), Madam Sheila Agonzibwe (Handball), Coach Yayiro Kasasa (Rugby) and Salim Mahaba Muwonge (Cycling).

The assembly also elected Nasser Sserunjogi (Basketball) and Godwin Kayangwe (Rugby) as the other two members who completed the executive board positions beating Simon Peter Komakech and Richard Asiimwe.

The New UOC New Executive Board (2021-2024)

• President – Donald Rukare
• 1st Vice – Dunstan Nsubuga
• 2nd Vice – Moses Mwase
• Secretary General – Beatrice Patience Ayikoru
• Assistant Secretary – Lydia Dhamuzungu
• Treasurer – Sadik Nasiwu
• Board Members (Women) – Anne Mungoma and Joanne Adongo
• Board Members (Men) – Nasser Sserunjogi and Godwin Kayangwe

Source – ChimpReports

Power your brain with Ugandan News

Add some text to explain benefits of
subscripton on your services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *