Gomba Lions Roar to 5th Masaza Cup Title

2 Mins read

• Gomba 3-1 Buddu

Gomba Lions roared to their 5th Masaza Cup championship thanks to a commanding 3-1 victory against Buddu in the finals of the 16th edition played on Saturday afternoon at the St Mary’s Stadium.

First half strikes from robust forward Charles Bbaale, Abdallah Ssentongo and Gift Fred ensured the Kitunzi Boys won the 2020 edition that was greatly affected by the Covid-19 outbreak.

The title winners finished ten on the pitch following Fred Atuhwera’s red card after a second bookable offense. Titus Sematimba managed to pull one back for Buddu.

For the first time in the history of the championship, His Majesty the Kabaka of Buganda Ronald Muwenda Mutebi didn’t grace the closing ceremony due to his international engagements in Nairobi, Kenya.

He was represented by Buganda kingdom premiere Owek Charles Peter Mayiga, who was flanked by his first deputy Hajji Twaha Kawaasi, FUFA president Moses Magogo, Vipers SC patron Dr Lawrence Mulindwa, sponsors and the 200 special invited guests.

The match

With just two minutes into the game, a fine interplay between Jackson Semugabi and Abdallah Sentongo paid off when the latter laid a teasing pass in the box that met Bbaale unmarked to tap in from point blank range.

Six minutes later, Titus Sematimba drew matters level after nodding home a fine header thanks to a Sharif Ssengendo inswinging corner kick from the right.

In the 18th minute, George Kaddu restored Gomba’s lead when his distant free kick beat Buddu’s defensive wall and hit the cross bar before finding itself in the net.

Fred Gift put the game beyond Buddu’s reach after wiggling through his marksmen and beat the offside trap before placing the ball on the near post past goalkeeper Farouk Yawe.

With six minutes left on the clock, Gomba Lions were reduced to ten men when Fred Atuhwera got marching orders after a second yellow card for a reckless tackle.

After the final whistle, Gomba clinched their 5th title adding to their previous honors (2004, 2009, 2014, and 2017) while Buddu missed a chance to add onto their 2016 championship.

Champions Gomba walked away with twelve million Ugandans shillings (Shs 12m) while Buddu bagged Nine millions (Shs 9m) and Busiro took home Shs 7m after coming 3rd.

Gomba Ssaza striker Charles Bbaale was the tournament top scorer with eight goals while Busiro Ssaza team’s stylish attacking midfielder Usama Arafat was the Most Valuable Player.

Team Line Ups

Gomba Lions

Francis Anguzu (G.K), Hamis Kefero Dagada, George Kaddu, Abdallah Ssentongo (Captain), Fred Gift, Fred Atuhwera, Ali Bayo Arshavin, George Kiryowa, Jackson Ssemugabi, Junior Juma Lutakome, Charles Bbaale

Substitutes: Peter Katongole (G.K), Derrick Mbowa, Ashraf Zizinga, Isaac Musiima, Colline Seruwu


Farouk Yawe Ssebanja (G.K, Captain), Angello Kizza, Edward Namasa, Gideon Odongo, Missi Ssemugera, Fahad Nsamba, Titus Ssematimba, Sharif Ssengendo, Marvin Kavuma, Jibril Nsimbe, Frank Sebuufu

Substitutes: Nazir Obbo, Farouk Sekayi, Jovan Mawejje, Emmanuel Mwesigwa


Champions – Gomba (UGX 12M)
Runners Up – Buddu (UGX 9M)
2nd runners Up – Busiro (UGX 7M)
Top scorer – Charles Bbaale – Gomba (12 goals)
MVP – Usama Arafat – Busiro

Source – ChimpReports

Power your brain with Ugandan News

Add some text to explain benefits of
subscripton on your services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *