Burkina Faso Qualifies for AFCON After Uganda Cranes Draw

1 Mins read

• Uganda Cranes 0-0 Burkina Faso

• South Sudan 0-1 Malawi

Burkina Faso has progressed to the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations tournament following a goalless draw with Uganda Cranes during the second last qualification game played on Wednesday at the St Mary’s Stadium in Kitende.

Prior to the encounter, Uganda Cranes needed maximum points to advance while the Stallions needed just a point to Qualify for the tournament.

After a boring first stanza that was played under the scorching sunshine, Uganda Cranes returned a better side following double game changing substitutions.

SuperSport United midfielder Moses Waiswa and Vipers Sports Club winger Ibrahim Orit came on for Mike Azira and Abdu Lumala who was playing at home for the very first time. Later on, striker Patrick Kaddu went off for Fahad Bayo.

The Cranes would have sealed it after 68 minutes but substitute Orit’s header off Farouk Miya curling corner kick rattled the goal post before the rebound was cleared away for a throw in.

Burkina Faso later made three changes that saw Mohamed Konate pave way for Lassina Chamste Traore before Bryan Dabo Boulaye and Abdou Razack Traore slots were taken over by Hassane Bande Boureima and Guira Adama.

Uganda Cranes forward Miya forced a diving save from goalkeeper Herve Koffi while Emmanuel Okwi and Fahad Bayo attempts were too weak to cause harvock.

The draw saw Burkina Faso qualify for the 2021 AFCON tournament after tallying nine points with a game to spare against South Sudan while Uganda Cranes has eight point in the second position.

Elsewhere, Malawi registered a hard fought for 0-1 away win against South Sudan in Khartoum to edge closer to qualification (7 points) while the latter bowed out despite remaining with an away game against the Stallions in Ouagadougou.

Uganda Cranes can only seal qualification to the final event in the event of a win or draw in the last group B game against Malawi on Monday, 29th March 2021 in Lilongwe.

Uganda Cranes XI

Dennis Onyango (GK), Nicholas Wadada, Joseph Ochaya, Halid Lwaliwa, Murushid Juuko, Taddeo Lwanga, Abdu Lumala, Mike Azira, Patrick Henry Kaddu, Emmanuel Okwi, Faruku Miya

Unused substitutes: Charles Lukwago (G.K), Salim Jamal Magoola (G.K), Ronald Mukiibi Ddungu, Elvis Bwomono, Mustafa Kizza, Allan Okello, Yunus Sentamu, Daniel Isiagi Opolot, William Luwagga

Source – ChimpReports

Power your brain with Ugandan News

Add some text to explain benefits of
subscripton on your services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *