Covid19: President Kenyatta Places Several Cities Under Lock Down

1 Mins read

The Standard

President Uhuru Kenyatta has ordered the cessation of all movement into and out of the counties of Nairobi, Kajiado, Machakos, Kiambu and Nakuru effective midnight, Friday March 26, 2021.

Addressing the nation at State House, Uhuru said the tough measures have been taken after the numbers escalated tremendously especially in the 5 counties from January this year.

At the same time, Uhuru announced a nationwide curfew that commences at 8pm and ends at 4pm in the five zoned counties and 10pm to 4am in the rest of the country effective midnight.

In the same breath, Uhuru tasked the Interior and Health ministries to review issuance of curfew passes over flouting of transport rules adding that the current passes have been vacated.

Party lovers too have been hard hit after the government banned the sale of alcohol in bars and restaurants in the said counties. However, eateries and restaurants have been asked to operate on a take-away basis.

“All gatherings and in-person meetings of whatever nature are suspended within Nairobi, Kajiado, Machakos, Kiambu & Nakuru counties until further notice. All in-person meetings of Cabinet and its committees also suspended”, he stated.

International travelers have also not been spared after Uhuru commanded that those traveling into and out of the territory of Kenya possess a negative Covid-19 PCR certificate acquired no more than 96 hours earlier.

He also directed employers to let employees work from home save for essential services


Source – ChimpReports

Power your brain with Ugandan News

Add some text to explain benefits of
subscripton on your services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *