NRM announces nomination of MPs for speakership and deputy speakership positions

1 Mins read

The ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) party Electoral Commission has called on party members that are interested in the speakership and deputy speakership positions of the 11th Parliament to pick interest forms from the NRM electoral commission starting tomorrow.

Elections for Speaker and Deputy Speaker are slated for this month after the 11th parliament swears in on May 17. So far from the ruling party incumbent Rebecca Kadaga and her deputy Jacob Oulanyah and Rakai district Woman MP Juliet Kinyamatama have officially expressed interest to stand for the top position.

For the Deputy Speaker race, Lwemiyaga County Member of Parliament Theodore Ssekikubo, Anita Among (Bukedea woman), Jacob Oboth Oboth (West Budama county), Thomas Tayebwa (Ruhinda North), and David Bahati (Ndorwa West) have all expressed interest.

Any candidate who is endorsed by NRM is tipped to win the race as it has the majority MPs (over 300).  FDC has only 27 and NUP has the highest number from the opposition (61).

Source – Matooke Republic

Power your brain with Ugandan News

Add some text to explain benefits of
subscripton on your services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *