Express Declared 2020/21 Uganda Premier League Champions

1 Mins read

Express Football Club has been declared the 2020/2021 StarTimes Uganda Premier League season winners recording their 7th title and first since 2011/12 season.

The decision to prematurely end the season and declare Express winners was reached at following a FUFA Executive Committee meeting held on Tuesday at the FUFA House in Mengo.

Since sports activities are currently under lockdown for 42 days with uncertainties of possible resumption in the near future, the FUFA Executive decided to invoke the 75% rule despite still having four games on the schedule.

“The FUFA Emergency Executive Committee has on Tuesday 29th June 2021 taken the decision to end the 2020/21 StarTimes Uganda Premier League based on Article 18, Section 1, Sub-section C & D of the FUFA Competition rules,” read the statement on FUFA website.

The Article states;

Where the league format due to circumstances of force majeure is not played to completion, the league winner shall be determined as follows.

• Where at least one club has played more than 75% of the league games, the following formula shall be used by TOC (Terms of Conditions) to determine the league positions.

• Total number of points earned from the number of games played multiplied by the total number of games supposed to be played divided by the number of games played.

This therefore means that table toppers Express FC (58 points) will represent the country in next season’s CAF Champions League.

FUFA further confirmed URA FC as CAF Confederation Cup representatives. The Tax men were second on the 16-team log with 57 points, one shy of league winners.

URA are continental representatives since by the time the games were halted, the Uganda Cup had only been played up to the semifinal stage.

Elsewhere, Kyetume joins MYDA FC and Kitara as the three teams that have been relegated to the second division tier, FUFA Big League.

Their spots will be filled by Arua Hill SC and Tooro United FC that gained direct promotion to the top flight while the third team will be determined after promotional playoffs.

Gadaffi FC, Nyamityobora, Blacks Power and Proline FC will vie for the remaining slot with playoffs scheduled to be played upon clearance and guidance from the National Council of Sports.

Source – ChimpReports

Power your brain with Ugandan News

Add some text to explain benefits of
subscripton on your services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *